The IAAF Coaches Education and Certification System Introduction

Social Networking

IAAF Coaches


IAAF-logoRecognising that the resources and effort involved in developing an education programme maybe beyond capabilities on a national level, the IAAF operates a Coaches Education and Certification System (CECS) which is available as a service to Member Federations which would like to make use of it.

As from March 2007, the CECS features five levels of courses operating in seven languages, English, French, Spanish, Arabic, Chinese, Russian and Portuguese. For each course level the IAAF provides a standard syllabus, qualified lecturers and the necessary learning support materials. Financial resources for the system come from the IAAF and its Area associations, Olympic Solidarity and other partners on the international and national levels, as well as self-funded options at the higher levels.

Operation of CECS is coordinated by the IAAF Member Services Department (MSD) and the IAAF Regional Development Centres (RDCs). The new 5-Level CECS structure has been created to specifically address the following areas (see ‘Fig.1’ pdf and ‘Fig 2’ pdf).

Please note: Individuals interested in attending a Level I or Level II course should contact their National Federation directly. Level III and Level IV courses are normally staged at the RDCs and are designed for a smaller number of coaches who will have specialist duties within their Federation. The Level V is the IAAF Academy programme which is organised in cooperation with sport universities. For further details of the 5 Levels of award see ‘Table 1’ pdf and below:

For full description of Coaching Level 1-5 please click here


Enhanced by Zemanta
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply