Cray milestone first Filipino win 100 SEA Games

Social Networking

Eric Cray

cray26 year old Eric Cray, became the First Filipino win the 100m Dash since the Philippines joined the SEA Games in 1975. Over the years sprinters from the Philippines came and failed to even land in the top three. Cray ended this drought with a convincing win in the Men’s 100m Dash at the 2015 SEA Games in SIngapore.

Cray had already lowered Ralph Soguilon National Record to 10.33 at the Bob Cat Classic in Texas. In the heats of 100 Cray was impressive in 10.28 shutting down the last 15 meters, blowing away the SEA Games Defending Champion Jirapong Meenapra of Thailand, and 2013  silver medalist Iswandi of Indonesia who clocked respectable times of 10.42 and 10.43.


It was a fast final with Cray holding off his pursuers in another new Philippine Record of 10.25 (0.0). Just outside the SEA Games Record of Surya Agung Wibowo set in 2009 of 10.17, and the Olympic qualification of 10.16. Yaspi Bobby took silver in 10.42, while Iswandi the 2013 Silver medalist was relegated to a bronze also with 10.42. Local Singaporean Calvin Kang was fourth in a new PB of 10.47. With defending champion Jirapong Meenapra time of 10.48 the same time which won last SEA Games only good enough for fifth place.


Facebook Comments

One thought on “Cray milestone first Filipino win 100 SEA Games

  1. Pingback: 2015 Asian Grand Prix all legs (merged) |

Leave a Reply