2015 Batang Pinoy Luzon Leg Athletics Report

Social Networking

Batang Pinoy Luzon

Article by Andrew Pirie ATFS Statistician 


Batang Pinoy Luzon

The Batang Pinoy Luzon Athletics was held July 18-19 at Malolos, Bulucan. It was ran as a program of the PSC. Kids born in 2000 and after were eligible to participate. The top placers qualify to the finals. The Results are available at the bottom of the page.

While the performances here were not outstanding as it was a 15 and under meet and only a qualification round there were a few notable marks. Also I would like to note I did not see any of the current national coaches here scouting for talent. While from a statistician point of the view the results were not fabulous. Consequently I only saw the results I was not at the meet.I arrived late to observe things from a coaches/technical point of view which is also an important part of the equation. Furthermore I have seen some of these young athletes perform before at Palaro and Weekly Relays and with dedicated and well structured training their is room for big improvements.

Batang Pinoy Luzon

Gianelli Gatinga wins the Palaro Triple Jump title.

Glorious Gatinga

First of all Palaro Champion Gianelli Gatinga of Taguig City took the Long and Triple Jump golds in the girls Triple and Long Jumps with 11.29 and 5.02m. While her bests are 11.79 and 5.20m. Gatinga, 15 had won her first Palaro title in the Triple Jump in Tagum. Also Gatinga narrowly missed out on qualifying for the 2014 ASEAN School Games, has establish one of three bronze medal marks required to make the line up.

Also In the boys Jumps Lierence Saygena of Marikina won the Long Jump (6.12m) and High Jump (1.65m).

While the 14 year old son of National Record Holder, Multiple SEA Games Champion and former Milo Marathon King and namesake Eduard Josh Buenavista (Baguio City) took his first local title winning the boys 5000m in 17:15.0

While Palaro 400m Bronze medalist Jessel Lumapas of Dasmarinas City took the 200m gold in (26.9), from Palaro 200m Bronze medalist Briceline Soriano of Pangasinan (27.1). Yet Lumapas won over Ingram in the 400 also 1.00.6 to 1.01.2 well off the 59.79 she had at Tagum.

DLSU Dasmarinas Team with certificates at the 2015 Batang Pinoy

Batang Pinoy Luzon. DLSU Dasmarinas Team with certificates at the 2015 Batang Pinoy

Also Lumapas team mate Palaro 400-800m Champion, Aaliah Ingram, took the 800 Gold in 2:22.5 from Milo Little Olympic Champion Marisol Amarga of Taguig (2:22.8). While Ingram was outside her best time from the Palaro of 2:19.74. Amarga won the 1500m (5.14.6).

Aaliah Ingram (green) holds of Marisol Amarga (red) in the girls 800m.

Batang Pinoy Luzon. Aaliah Ingram (green) holds of Marisol Amarga (red) in the girls 800m.

In addition the 100 meter final it was a close three way fight with all three runners registering 13.0-13.1. Please note that with times this close the need for standardization of electronic timing at all meets is necessary.It is really impossible in these situation to tell who really won with out a photo finish. Gatinga was given the win (12.94ht) over Lumpas (12.95ht) with Briceline Soriano in third in (13.1).

Jovian Calixio won the 100,200,400 treble in the boys in 11.4, 23.8, 52.3.

Ingram and Lumapas teamed up to win the Girls 4×400  (4.15.3) with Cuyom and Repedro. From Taguig City (4.21.6) (including Gatinga and Amarga), and Province of Pangasinan  (4.25.2) (including Soriano).

The same team from Dasmarinas City won the 4×100 (52.1), from Taguig and Province of Pangasinan.

Meanwhile in the High Jump Palaro Finalists Hazel Montemayor (Laguna) and Sairah De Vera (Pangasinan) improved there PBs from 1.45 to 1.53 and 1.50m to take first and second.

(Please visit results section)

Related articles

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply