1983 Palarong Pambansa Tacloban

Social Networking

1983 Palarong Pambansa

1983 Palarong Pambansa

Article by Pirie Enzo

The 1983 Palaro Pambansa was held in Tacloban, Leyte. This was the first time Eastern Visayas would get the honor of holding the prestigious multi-sport event. Some 26 years later Tacloban would again host the Palaro.

I have extracted the athletics page results from a complete document of the ’1983 Palarong Pambansa Report’ supplied to me by DECS (Department of Culture and Sports). This copy was in reasonable condition, with slight fading. It wasn’t faded though to the point without checking my stats and general knowledge of the time to piece together the names. It was done on a typewriter. Back then the Palarong Pambansa served as the default ‘National meet’ in place of the National Open or National Games. Their was no elementary grade just a ‘Junior’ and ‘Senior’ age category like the National Championships.

Looking through the results as a statistician gives wonderful insight into are athletics past as a primary document.



22-year-old Marlon Pagalilauan won the 100m (11.2), 200m(23.0) and 400m (52.4) the times were not fabulous. But Marlon did improve a lot later (21.6,200m) and became better known as a 400m runner (48.53,400m) who was part of the legendary 4x400m team that went on to set a still standing record of (3.06.58) at the SEA Games in Bangkok in 1985. Anselmo De Guzman (aka. Coach Butchoy) finished 3rd and 4th in the 100 and 200. Arnel Lobos who later became better known as a national 110m hurdler was 4th in the 400m and 400m Hurdles.

Renato Unso won the 110m Hurdles (15.9), he improved this by more than a second later in his career and later that year won the SEA Games 400m Hurdles. Leopoldo Arnillo won the 400m Hurdles (57.5) Arnillo became SEA Games Champion in this event two years later.

Now national coach Mario Castro won the Steeples (9.58.3). Castro did finish behind in the 5k and 10k. But later held the Mens 10k record for nearly two decades and also win the SEA Games title in 1985.

Dario De Rosas (former national coach) won the Mens Triple (14.10), with veteran Felicissimo Nierras nearing the end of his playing years third (Felicissimo was the father of 400 SEA Games Champ Julius Nierras). Dario also won the Pole Vault (3.70) ahead of Manuel De Oro on countback who had the same number of points.

Manuel De Oro (the father of Maika De Oro) won the Javelin (58.00)



Esmeraldo Punelas this time won the 100m title (11.4), and again denied of a win in the 200m (23.6), with unheralded Jeremias (surname faded) recording the same performance. The Long distance results are too faded to read.

Edward Tejada set a new meet record in the High Jump (1.95) (dob unavailable), however the current Palaro Record is recognized as 1.90m by Paolo Martinez set in 2002 Palaro. Fidel Repiso (born 1959) won the shot-put and discus, Repiso later became the national record holder in Discus.



16-year-old Elma Muros took the senior 100m title Palarong Pambansa title (13.0) in a rare win over 19-year-old Lydia De Vega (13.4). Elma also took 200m title (26.1). Distance and field events are too faded to read. Corazon Magante tied the high jump record with a leap of 1.60m. Delia Orguillas (1982) and Nanette Lusterio (1974) had recorded the same marks.



Gina Sucal who was the bronze medalist the previous year won the 100m title (13.4), Perla Balatucan (mother of Pearnel Lobos), Rhodo Sinoro (later 11.73 100 runner) Leah Nolido (mother of PJ Griffey) finished 2nd-4th. It was the same order in the 200m with Sucal winning in 26.3. Sucal also set a meet record in the 400m in 59.8.

Nene Gamo defended her 100 and 400 Hurdle titles, and added the long jump. Rowena Monton won the 3000m.

Victoria Paglinawan established a new record in the High Jump 1.57m.


1983 palarong pambansa athletic results


Related articles

Leyte to host Batang Pinoy 2012 (leytesamardaily.net)

25th MILO Little Olympics Luzon Elims Opened in Lingayen (kalongkong.wordpress.com)

Ilonggo athletes seen to give Cebuanos run for their money in Milo (newsinfo.inquirer.ne

Renato Unso the heartbreak kid who shattered the National Record

1978 Palarong Pambansa


Enhanced by Zemanta
Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply