Angara calls for inquiry into Philippine Olympic Commitee

Social Networking

Two Issues regarding the POC have been escalated to the Senate of the Philippines. With an inquiry requested by Senator Sonny Angara.

  1. The previous PSC Board granting of 129 Million Pesos to the POC for various un-liquidated expenses.
  2. The disputed disqualification of POC Presidential Candidate Ricky Vargas

Below are documents regarding the request for an inquiry.

part1 part2

(Below From Daily Tribune, above docs are not from Daily Tribune)

A complaint of Government Interference of the POC to the IOC could lead to the Philippines facing a 2 year ban from International competitions. Including SEA Games, Asian Games etc.

Another prominent POC insider said this should not be Vargas’ course as the International Olympic Committee (IOC) views such as a form of government intervention.

He said it could pave the way for the country’s suspension by the IOC and athletes would be barred from the Southeast Asian Games, Asian Games and the various world championships.

The source explained that if a TRO is issued, Vargas’ nemesis in the POC elections — incumbent POC president Jose “Peping” Cojuangco — would remain the chief of the Olympic council on a holdover capacity.
He warned that Cojuangco would use his clout before the 43-member POC General Assembly to declare Vargas as a persona non grata, similar to their past actions against former Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) chairman Harry Angping in 2009 and then against former athletics chief Go Teng Kok.

Angara, chairman of the Senate committee on sports, said these issues have to be resolved immediately as the controversy would hinder the development of Philippine sports, especially now that national athletes would be competing in the 29th Southeast Asian Games in Kuala Lumpur next year.
Aside from Cojuangco, PSC chairman William “Butch” Ramirez and the entire board of commissioners are expected to grace the hearing as well as former PSC chief Ricardo Garcia, who served during the Aquino administration from 2010 to 2016.

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply