Social Networking

2013-14 Fencing Summary

2014 Fencing SEA Championships (Full Results included)

Some very positive results for Philippine Fencing from the January meet.

SEA Fencing 2014

As Fencing was not featured in the 2013 SEA Games, the 2014 SEA Fencing Federation Championships held in January in Putrajaya, Malaysia was used as a gauge for evaluating these athletes.

Seven Countries participated in two age categories (Junior) and (Senior)

Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, Indonesia, Vietnam and Thailand sent athletes to this meet. There was also a very small contingent from Cambodia.

Note each country fielded around three to four athletes in each event and there were 20-30 participants in each individual event and a high quality south East Asian level field in these events.



Nathaniel Perez (silver) Men’s Foil Individual and Justine Gail Tinio (silver) Women’s foil individual were participating in the Junior division.

The Junior Women’s Foil Team which landed a bronze was composed of Gail Tinio, Keren Pangilinan, Wilhemina Lozada, and Maxine Esteban.



Jamie Nicanor and Clichelleyn del Rosario both won individual bronze medals in the women’s open.

The Women’s Foil Team of Jamie Nicanor, Justin Gail Tinio, Keren Pangilinan and Wilhelmina Lozada took bronze. As did the women’s Epee Team of Anna Gabriella Estimada, Hanniel Abella, Nicanor and Pangilinan.

The Women’s Saber Team of del Rosario, Nicanor, and Gesiha De Leon took bronze also. The Men’s saber team of Walbert Mendoza, Gian Carlo Nocom and Eric Brando II took silver.


2011 Comparisson

As there was no fencing played in SEA Games in 2013 will draw data from the 2011 SEA Games. Walbert Mendoza who was the individual saber champion from 2011 was able to land silver in the team event but landed 12th in the individual.

Nocom and Brando were part of the bronze medal team in the Men’s Team Saber in the 2011 SEA Games. However Edmon Velez had been replaced with Mendoza for this meet

Jylyn Nicanor was the only remaining member from the 2011 SEA Games team that took the bronze as Lenny Otadoy and Michelle Brozula had been replaced with Nicanor and De Leon.

While in Team Epee the three members of the 2011 Bronze medal team at SEA Games Madel Galvez, Harlene Orendain and Michelle Brozula had been replaced.

In the women’s Sabre Clichelleyn Del Rosario finished with the bronze. This was behind THI Thanh Loan Nguyen who was the bronze medalist in Palembang in 2011. The silver ANN Lee Huimin of Singapore was a new athlete. Nicanor shared the bronze with 2011 SEA Games Champion Thi Le Dung Nguyen. Diah Permatasari the SEA Games silver medalist in 2011 did not participate.

In the women’s Foil Jamie Nicanor finished with bronze. THI Tuoi Nguyen the 2011 SEA Games champion won the event. While newcomers Wenying Wang and Cheryl Wong Ye Han who finished silver and shared bronze were newcomers. Le Thi Bich of Vietnam the 2011 Silver Medalist did not participate. Natasha Abu Bakar who was bronze in Palembang was 15th and Nunta Chantasuvannasin the shared bronze in Palembang was 5th.

All in all a very positive set of results as this meet was highly competitive with alot of the best South East Asian athletes in action. There are alot of promising talents coming up who should perform well at the 2015 SEA Games.

2014 SEAFF Fencing Results

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply